Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"Chroot" from windows to Gentoo installed in an partition
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
diablo465
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Sep 2013
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:48 am    Post subject: "Chroot" from windows to Gentoo installed in an pa Reply with quote

I wish to have a "full control" of Gentoo when windows is the host. The meaning of Full control is that I can (1) run emerge (2) run X11 application (3) run binary files in gentoo partitions. Please remind, this gentoo is installed in a partition alongside the partition that installs the hosting windows.

I spent most of time using gentoo in office and home desktops, but once it comes to wifi, I have to switch to windows as it provides more stable driver. Also, to be honest, when travelling, using windows seems to be more convinent as things are more approachable in windows environment.

But sometimes, I do wish to have a full control of Gentoo when the Windows is the host.

There are several possible choicee I have in my mind, but due to limited experience, I don't know which is more straightforward or just feasible.

(1) install virtualbox using physical partition (e.g., a example). But this method seems to be quite complicated, if things are not set well, the gentoo partition can be damaged.

(2) using chroot in cgwin. I found in cgwin repo there is chroot command, but once googling, there is not so much useful things coming out. There is also page saying it is not possible to magically "chroot" from windows to linux as both system are not the same.

(3) using cgwin but changing the environmental variables as the ones in gentoo. I think maybe this method could be somehow more straightforward. I have mounted the gentoo partition using ext2fsd, and cgwin can access all the files. But I don't know besides /etc/profiles, what other variable should be changed accordingly so that cgwin can make use of the resources in gentoo partition.


More insights: Probably if gentoo can be installed from stage 3 using cgwin, my problem can also be solved. but whether this is feasible?

If none of the approach can achieve the three criterias of full control, I can also compromise not having the function of running emerge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whenever you access a writable filesystem you risk inflicting damage.
Actually among options you pointed out, virtual machine seems to be the easiest to use. At least as long as windows can see linux partitions - which itself also is dangerous, as it will most likely promt you to reformat them.
But I doubt that would be a bigger risk that using windows to access linux partitions.

Anyway, if you mostly use linux, why not to run windows inside a VM instead?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7972
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Helllo,

Cygqwin is not a Linux environment, you won't be able to chroot into a Gentoo partition. The only solution is to run a Virtual Machine.

If you lilke emerge, take a look at Gentoo Prefix, which exists for Windows using INTERIX system.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablo465
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Sep 2013
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
Anyway, if you mostly use linux, why not to run windows inside a VM instead?


My wifi drivers (ath9k and rtlwifi respectively for two laptops) are bit dodgy in some circumstances. example 1 , example 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have similar issue to what you linked on 4 different devices (3 athersos chips with linux and probably intel with windows). Since they all had always worked fine until I moved to this place I simply assume AP is faulty (or signal too weak to be stable)
Unfortunately picking an alternative OS doesn't help much in either of those cases
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum