Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to mount root device during boot.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ph0eniX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 502
Location: New York, U.S.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:03 pm    Post subject: Unable to mount root device during boot. Reply with quote

Code:

>>Using mount -t auto -o ro
mount: mounting /dev/sda3 on /newroot failed: Invalid argument
Could not mount specified ROOT, try again
Could not find the root block device in .


If I exit to shell and look at the dmesg output, I see the following:
Code:

EXT4-fs (sda3): couldn't mount as ext3 due to feature incompatibilities
EXT4-fs (sda3): couldn't mount as ext2 due to feature incompatibilities
EXT4-fs (sda3): bad geometry: block count 32997120 exceeds size of device 32996612


/dev/sda3 mounts perfectly fine if I boot the live CD.

Here is my fstab:

Code:

/dev/sda1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/sda3               /               ext4            noatime         0 1
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0


The kernel config has the following options in it:
Code:

CONFIG_EXT4_FS=y
CONFIG_EXT4_USE_FOR_EXT23=y
CONFIG_EXT4_FS_POSIX_ACL=y
CONFIG_EXT4_FS_SECURITY=y


What am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a wild guess. Do you have more than one HDD?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ph0eniX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 502
Location: New York, U.S.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for responding.
There is only one HDD in the machine and it's /dev/sda.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ph0eniX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 502
Location: New York, U.S.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What gets me is that I've tried using the kernel config from the live CD but then there were no /dev/sda* devices at all. I started tweaking the config. and rebuilding the kernel and now the devices are there but not mountable. Why doesn't the same config that the live CD uses work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum