Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
system update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:11 pm    Post subject: system update Reply with quote

Hi,

i'm trying to update my gentoo system and, although i read several pages concering portage etc., i cannot figure out what the error message with the following update is about.
Can you help me?

Thanks a lot:

Code:

emerge -upvND world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies -

!!! Problem resolving dependencies for www-plugins/adobe-flash from @selected
... done!

!!! The ebuild selected to satisfy "www-plugins/adobe-flash" has unmet requirements.
- www-plugins/adobe-flash-11.2.202.394::gentoo USE="kde -debug (-selinux) -sse2"

  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    sse2

  The above constraints are a subset of the following complete expression:
    sse2 debug? ( abi_x86_32 ) any-of ( abi_x86_64 abi_x86_32 )

(dependency required by "@selected" [set])
(dependency required by "@world" [argument])

 * IMPORTANT: 1 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mati,

Code:
!!! Problem resolving dependencies for www-plugins/adobe-flash from @selected
... done

  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    sse2


You need to turn on the sse2 USE flag on www-plugins/adobe-flash
Unless you have a processor that does not support sse2.

Try
Code:
grep sse2 /proc/cpuinfo

If you don't have sse2, then www-plugins/adobe-flash will not run on your CU as its a binary blob that expects to use the sse2 instruction set.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very much thanks, but how do i turn the sse2 flag on for adobe?
Sorry for this trivial problem but i wouldn't post if i would know...

thanks for further short help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mati,

You can add sse2 to your USE in make.conf. That will turn it on for all packages. Multimedia apps will benefit the most.

On a per package basis, make the file /etc/portage/package.use
Add
Code:
# Flash needs sse2
www-plugins/adobe-flash sse2

This will turn on sse2 only for www-plugins/adobe-flash.

See
Code:
man portage

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3383

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mati wrote:
Very much thanks, but how do i turn the sse2 flag on for adobe?
Sorry for this trivial problem but i wouldn't post if i would know...

thanks for further short help.


I would make sure to "grep flags /proc/cpuinfo | grep sse2" to make sure your CPU supports it. Most modern CPUs do, but the PIII I'm using as a home server only has SSE.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius wrote:
I would make sure to "grep flags /proc/cpuinfo | grep sse2" to make sure your CPU supports it.

depontius ... you can omit the second grep and use a regex to match ...

Code:
# grep '^flags.*sse2' /proc/cpuinfo

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but but ...

see2 can only appear in the flags line. Remember KISS.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI there,

thanks for your help. I now added sse2 to my make.conf. HOwever, the output is even worse :( :

Code:

emerge -upvND world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:                                         
                                                                                                           
Calculating dependencies... done!                                                                           
                                                                                                           
!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled                                             
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:                                                             
                                                                                                                         
x11-libs/cairo:0                                                                                                               
                                                                                                                                             
  (x11-libs/cairo-1.12.16::gentoo, installed) pulled in by                                                                                   
    (no parents that aren't satisfied by other packages in this slot)                                                                       
                                                                                                                                                 
  (x11-libs/cairo-1.12.16::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by                                                                       
    >=x11-libs/cairo-1.12.14-r4:=[X?,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (x11-libs/pango-1.36.5::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
    >=x11-libs/cairo-1.12.14-r4:=[X,svg,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (x11-libs/gtk+-2.24.24::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
    >=x11-libs/cairo-1.12.14-r4[abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (gnome-base/librsvg-2.40.2-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)

media-libs/lcms:2

  (media-libs/lcms-2.5::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    >=media-libs/lcms-2.5:2[abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (media-libs/libmng-2.0.2-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)

  (media-libs/lcms-2.5::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    (no parents that aren't satisfied by other packages in this slot)


It may be possible to solve this problem by using package.mask to
prevent one of those packages from being selected. However, it is also
possible that conflicting dependencies exist such that they are
impossible to satisfy simultaneously.  If such a conflict exists in
the dependencies of two different packages, then those packages can
not be installed simultaneously.

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man
page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by mail-client/thunderbird-24.7.0
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
=dev-lang/python-2.7.7 sqlite

!!! The ebuild selected to satisfy ">=media-libs/libvpx-1.0.0" has unmet requirements.
- media-libs/libvpx-1.3.0::gentoo USE="(policykit) sse2 threads (-altivec) -avx -avx2 -doc -mmx -postproc -sse -sse3 -sse4_1 -ssse3 -static-libs -test"

  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    sse2? ( mmx )

  The above constraints are a subset of the following complete expression:
    sse? ( sse2 ) sse2? ( mmx ) ssse3? ( sse2 )

(dependency required by "mail-client/thunderbird-24.7.0" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "@selected" [set])
(dependency required by "@world" [argument])

 * IMPORTANT: 1 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mati,

What profile do you have selected?
These sorts of things are often taken care of there.
Code:
eselect profile list
will show it.
There is nothing wrong with setting all oy your omn USE flags either.

Code:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by mail-client/thunderbird-24.7.0
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
=dev-lang/python-2.7.7 sqlite
tells that python-2.7.7 needs to be built with the sqlite USE flag so that it can support thunderbird.

Code:
!!! The ebuild selected to satisfy ">=media-libs/libvpx-1.0.0" has unmet requirements.
- media-libs/libvpx-1.3.0::gentoo USE="(policykit) sse2 threads (-altivec) -avx -avx2 -doc -mmx -postproc -sse -sse3 -sse4_1 -ssse3 -static-libs -test"

  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    sse2? ( mmx )
tells that to build media-libs/libvpx-1.3.0 with the sse2 USE flag, you must also set the mmx USE flag.

The mmx (Multi Media Extensions) goes back to the P1 233 MHz chip. sse2 is newer, so you will have mmx.

The other things are harder to fix but it may just need individual packages to be upgraded. Fix the above first.

--- Edit ---

Try adding --backtrack=30 to your emerge command. That makes portage try harder (and take longer) to solve your dependencies.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

my profile is:

Code:

eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/x86/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/x86/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/x86/13.0/desktop
  [4]   default/linux/x86/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/x86/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/x86/13.0/desktop/kde *
  [7]   default/linux/x86/13.0/desktop/kde/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/x86/13.0/developer
  [9]   hardened/linux/x86
  [10]  hardened/linux/x86/selinux
  [11]  hardened/linux/uclibc/x86
  [12]  hardened/linux/musl/x86



"The mmx (Multi Media Extensions) goes back to the P1 233 MHz chip. sse2 is newer, so you will have mmx."

thanks, does this mean i shall use only sse2 now or do you mean i should put there mmx as well? I definitely have sse2 (according to your grep command) :-)

thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mati,

You must add mmx too.

For python you also need to add sqlite
Its your choice if you make it a global USE or not.

I'm surprised that default/linux/x86/13.0/desktop/kde does not already set USE="sse2 mmx" for you.
What does emerge --info tell?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum