Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems using links gentoo.org/mirrors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zelt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:44 pm    Post subject: Problems using links gentoo.org/mirrors Reply with quote

Hello

I am currently still trying to follow the handbook.

I am trying to download the stage 3 tarball using

links www.gentoo.org/main/en/mirrors.xml

Once I navigate to the tar I want, I press enter and begin to download.

Before the download I made sure I did cd /mnt/gentoo, however I see a msg on the screen stating "Saving to: 'usr/portage/distfiles/cracklib-2.9.1.tar.gz"
All this aside, when the download is finished, I get a msg saying.

"ERROR: out of memory (realloc(1440) returned NULL)"

When I run ls /mnt/gentoo or ls /usr/portage/distfiles/ the tar file is nowhere to be seen.

Kinda stuck with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First question, which may sound obvious, but did you run out of memory?
What kind of machine are you using?
Did you actually get the stage 3 tarball?
The error message indicating cracklib indicates you're on some other step, what step?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zelt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
First question, which may sound obvious, but did you run out of memory?
What kind of machine are you using?
Did you actually get the stage 3 tarball?
The error message indicating cracklib indicates you're on some other step, what step?


The message kind of says I ran out of memory, My Box specs are

2TB HD
16GB Ram
4770k CPU

As for the message indicating crack lib, I dont know why it is, I selected stage 3 tarball from

links gentoo.org/main/en/mirrors.xml -> releases -> x86 -> autobuilds -> current-stage3-i686 -> stage3-i686-20140805.tar.bz2


I just tried again with the same links cmd, after download is complete I get the following

File cache: 176142100 bytes, 1 files, 1 locked, 0 loading
Decompressed cache: 619765760 bytes, 1 files, 1 locked
Formatted document cache: 0 documents, 0 locked
DNS cache: 0 servers

ERROR: out of memory (realloc(320) returned NULL)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2576

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrong tarball. You need the amd64 tarball. x86 will not work for your box. More specifically, you will only be able to use 4 gigs of your ram.

You need the 64 bit media too. May I suggest that you use the system rescue CD if you don't currently have one? It won't change the install at all, but it will give you a nicer environment, ie a web browser, networkmanager, etc.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zelt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
wrong tarball. You need the amd64 tarball. x86 will not work for your box. More specifically, you will only be able to use 4 gigs of your ram.

You need the 64 bit media too. May I suggest that you use the system rescue CD if you don't currently have one? It won't change the install at all, but it will give you a nicer environment, ie a web browser, networkmanager, etc.


Ok I will do so.

As for this links problem, I decided to go back to USB, I downloaded the tarball manually from a windows PC and transferred over.
Everything extracted and I am at around stage 7-8 of the install.

The worrying thing is you said its the wrong tarball.

Should I just stop where I am? I have received no errors so far about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2576

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you should start over. You can just remake all your file systems to erase the install and proceed from there.

Your not going to get any errors because technically your computer is comparable with the tarball. The problem is you are doing a 32 bit install on a 64 bit computer. It will run just fine, but your only going to be able to use 4 gigs of your ram (actually, more like 3.7 gigs).
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zelt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
Yes, you should start over. You can just remake all your file systems to erase the install and proceed from there.

Your not going to get any errors because technically your computer is comparable with the tarball. The problem is you are doing a 32 bit install on a 64 bit computer. It will run just fine, but your only going to be able to use 4 gigs of your ram (actually, more like 3.7 gigs).


Ok thanks for the clarification, I am going to do this now.

1 other thing, why do they call it amd64, its slightly misleading as I thought it was for amd type processors.
I have intel 4770k.

I also thought somewhere back(forgot where specifically) I read i686 was for intel CPU. Did I read wrong?

Edit : I found where I read it. - https://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/
I should of read the whole page.

Seems the amd64 was first used by amd and thats where the name comes from
_________________
k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum