Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Installation misery
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nymexthegreat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:36 am    Post subject: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Installation misery Reply with quote

Evenin' all

I've been having one heck of a time trying to install gentoo onto a new machine i built today:

Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 w/AMD-8350

I downloaded the minimal install iso as of 08/28, wrote it to a USB stick, and am able to boot. However once It's booted there is no network connectivity; this is with both the onboard Realtek 8111 chipset as well as an additional rt8169 PCI card i have. Ifconfig shows an address of 169.x.x.x. By pure luck alone it seems to occasionally obtain an address via DHCP but then there is absolutely no connectivity (i.e 95% packet loss on pings).

I've tried enabling/disabling IOMMU and a variety of other features in the BIOS but I am getting nowhere. If anyone has any experience with this I would greatly appreciate any insight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you are running net-setup?
You have determined the interface name by running
Code:
ifconfig
and are using it?
you have a wired connection to a router?
not behind a proxy?
Code:
lspci -k | grep -i ethernet
produces? running
Code:
modprobe -r r8169
modprobe r8169
net-setup
might help.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3914
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the 169 address is one that is given (default) if it can't get a real one

"ifconfig -a" will show all interfaces (up or down)
if it shows nothing, then you probably don't have the kernel configured properly for the devices.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5761

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try using ethtool to force the link to a slower speed. If that fixes it, it might be dud hardware. If you're lucky it might just be the cable...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo, nymexthegreat !

Just choose the Linux Live System to your liking from (http://distrowatch.com/),

the most commonly used are listed there

and install gentoo from it - if you'll run into any further trouble with the Gentoo liveCD


Enjoy your stay :)


edit:

SystemRescueCD worked fine in combination with UEFI
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nymexthegreat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you all for your responses.

If anyone else is having trouble:

Enable IOMMU in BIOS.
Edit: You may or may not need to enable the NetworkStack in BIOS.

I used the AMD64 Live DVD as the install environment
-Add the IOMMU=soft command to the linux kernel bootline (networking will NOT work without this)

Proceed as normal.


As a point of interest (i really have no idea about the implications) the IOMMU was not detected by LSPCI on the gentoo minimal install ISO but was detected by the LiveDVD - presumably this has somethign to do with it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3914
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had trouble with the network cards, when I turned IOMMU on (I forgot since it was a while back)
I added "iommu=pt" to the command line in grub and have had no trouble since. (pt means passthrough and is needed for some amd mb's)

I believe "soft" tells it to use software iommu, and IMO you might as well turn off iommu in the bios instead.

Edit to add: the only reason for having IOMMU on is for virtualization (qemu, etc.)
if you're not doing vm's then leave iommu off as it's not used for much else, AFAIK.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nymexthegreat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info anon-moose.

Soft worked so I had just stuck with that, but I do fully intend to use the IOMMU so pt it is. I've been looking @ kernel-parameters.txt (from kernel.org) and the options dont seem to be well documented.

Did you enable anything to do with amd_iommu by chance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

derived from pappy kernel 3.9.9 (3.16.1) now, working on fx8150 on an asrock fatal1ty moboard
zgrep -i iommu /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_GART_IOMMU=y
# CONFIG_CALGARY_IOMMU is not set
CONFIG_IOMMU_HELPER=y
# CONFIG_IOMMU_SUPPORT is not set
# CONFIG_IOMMU_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_IOMMU_STRESS is not set
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3914
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These are my config options (dealing with IOMMU)

CONFIG_GART_IOMMU=y
# CONFIG_CALGARY_IOMMU is not set
CONFIG_IOMMU_HELPER=y
CONFIG_VFIO_IOMMU_TYPE1=m
CONFIG_IOMMU_API=y
CONFIG_IOMMU_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_AMD_IOMMU=y
# CONFIG_AMD_IOMMU_STATS is not set
# CONFIG_INTEL_IOMMU is not set
# CONFIG_IOMMU_STRESS is not set

From the command line, I only pass the one that I mentioned earlier.

I agree the kernel parameters (especially the ones dealing with iommu) leave much to be desired as far as detail or what they mean.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 388
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if my config may help but on my Asus M5A99X EVO with FX-6300 i have
Code:

# zgrep -i iommu /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_GART_IOMMU=y
CONFIG_CALGARY_IOMMU=y
CONFIG_CALGARY_IOMMU_ENABLED_BY_DEFAULT=y
CONFIG_IOMMU_HELPER=y
CONFIG_IOMMU_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_AMD_IOMMU is not set
# CONFIG_INTEL_IOMMU is not set
# CONFIG_IOMMU_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_IOMMU_STRESS is not set

_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IOMMU=pt will effectively disable the IOMMU.

See also this topic for reference to the kernel bug report containing a patch to the r8169 driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3914
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem was that without "pt" more than just the ethernet card was affected.
And there were a slew of AMD-Vi error messages from multiple devices.

From pci-dma.c
/*
* This variable becomes 1 if iommu=pt is passed on the kernel command line.
* If this variable is 1, IOMMU implementations do no DMA translation for
* devices and allow every device to access to whole physical memory. This is
* useful if a user wants to use an IOMMU only for KVM device assignment to
* guests and not for driver dma translation.
*/

And in my case and many others that I've read about the reason most use iommu is for virtualization.

I just mention it as working for me, others can make their own choices.

Edit to add: I would imagine that the DMA translation is part of the problem with some things not working without the pt flag.
As to whether it's a bios problem, inherent to AMD cpu/chipsets or something else, I don't know.
I haven't tried it since using an older version of the kernel (using 3.15.9 now)
I may test it to see if it's been fixed in the latest version.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum