Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No wireless interface
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stee1rat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:05 am    Post subject: No wireless interface Reply with quote

Hello everyone!

I'm trying to install latest minimal-cd on my eeepc 1000 and there's no wireless interface, even though the WiFi is enabled in BIOS.
Both lo and enp4s0 interfaces return this message when I issue iwconfig: no wireless extension.

My netbook has a Ralink's RT2790 Wireless.

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by stee1rat on Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo!

Unfortunately, Ralink tends to have patchy Linux support under the best conditions. I don't know the specifics for your card, but you are almost certainly using a poor choice of install media. Gentoo is different from most other ditros in that the installation media isn't important. All you need is a working shell, preferably bash, and chroot.

The first thing you should try is the System Rescue CD It is identical to the Gentoo install media except with much better hardware support. It is also a good thing to have around since you never know when your going to need it.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stee1rat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the answer!

I'm not sure if I understood you correctly, correct me if I'm wrong, please: If I already have installed arch system on my netbook, with working wifi and everything, I can just login into my arch system and then start from the Preparing the Disks chapter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That should work just fine. You may need to install chroot in Arch, but that shouldn't be difficult.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stee1rat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I will try it!

I have another question: after I partitioned my disks I would lose my arch installation, what if my netbook reboots accidentally? Should I install some drivers in the process or configure wireless somehow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you shouldn't do that. In fact, a) you wouldn't be allowed to mess with the mounted partitions and b) if you did the OS would crash.

It would work if you wanted to dual boot, but wiping out an install should be done from a different environment. The Arch install CD should work if you still have it. Sorry, I misunderstood what you meant.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stee1rat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!

So, bottom line, I could load like any live cd and chroot from there, right?
Do I actually need the minimal-cd iso in that case or do I only need the stage3 tarball?

And (probably not the question to you) why this minimal gentoo install cd doesn't include everything needed for the installation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So, bottom line, I could load like any live cd and chroot from there, right?
Basically. There are a few catch 22s, but most of them should be listed herehttp://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Installation_alternatives
Quote:
Do I actually need the minimal-cd iso in that case or do I only need the stage3 tarball?
The stage3 contains everything you will need to get a working environment. You will need to add a few packages to get a bootable system.
Quote:
And (probably not the question to you) why this minimal gentoo install cd doesn't include everything needed for the installation?
I'll take a stab at it anyway. It probably has to do with complexity. Adding the stage3 to an install CD would give it a limited shelf life and make it more difficult to use alternative media, not to mention making it a bigger download. Gentoo also doesn't try and be Ubuntu. There is just too many possible approaches to installing a system to cover them all with an install script or pre-configured packages so it is no longer attempted. There where a few DVDs that did attempt this in the past, but they where not particularly good.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum